Mid-Lent Update

This Great Fast has been a fruitful one that has brought out much direction for me spiritually, physically, and even emotionally.  There is a great Lenten prayer I have found helps me in the times where my own personal sin assaults viciously.

Nicene Creed

Our Father

Three Ave’s

Glory Be

The Agony in the Garden

Our Father

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner x10

Glory Be

The Scourging at the Pillar

Our Father

Lord Jesus Christ, scourged at the pillar, have mercy on me a sinner x10

Glory Be

The Crowning with Thorns

Our Father

Lord Jesus Christ, crowned with thorns, have mercy on me a sinner x10

Glory Be

The Carrying of the Cross

Our Father

Lord Jesus Christ, condemned to death, have mercy on me a sinner x10

Glory Be

The Crucifixion 

Our Father

Lord Jesus Christ, crucified for us, have mercy on me a sinner x10

Glory Be

Salve Regina

 

Use it if you want and continue to persevere in the Fast.

3 thoughts on “Mid-Lent Update

  1. Blessed Lent!

    Very nice. I’ve also really taken a liking to the so-called “Anglican Rosary” (though I say it on my regular Roman decades, not on seven-bead “weeks”):

    Sign of the Cross
    Introductory rites (mirroring the Anglican-use Office):
    V. O Lord, open thou our lips. R. And our mouth shall shew forth thy praise.
    V. O God, make speed to save us. R. O Lord, make haste to help us.
    Glory be… &c.
    V. Praise ye the Lord. R. The Lord’s name be praised.
    (Alleluia, if outside Lent)
    On large beads: Trisagion (Holy God, Holy Mighty, Holy Immortal, have mercy on us.)
    On small beads: Jesus prayer.
    After final “week” or decade: Our Father.

    Like

      • Yes, and uncertain.

        The Anglicans have always had a thing for the East. E.g. the 1979 Book of Common Prayer introduces the Phos Hilaron into Evensong. The 1940 Hymnal also has a good number of Russian and Greek hymns in English translation and Western metrical form.

        As to your second question, I never encountered the Anglican Rosary among fellow Ordinariateers. I just found it on the interwebs. It is a relatively recent invention (apparently popularized by a discredited, abusive Episcopal priest, unfortunately). I would think most Anglo-Catholics just pray the rosary as we know it.

        That said, I love the Jesus Prayer, and I also love the Trisagion and the Anglican-Use Office, so a mix between them was a neat combo for me. I love the rosary but just find the former (or even your schema above) much easier to get immersed in/meditate on, personally.

        Like

Leave a Reply

