Letting it go

The vigilante has decided this lent to cut down on his time browsing other Catholic blogs and focus on more productive endeavors (including this blog).  I have also resolved to never comment on Patheos or The Remnant again.  The former is run by (in Fr. Robert Taft’s words) neocon wackos while the latter are full of people entrenched in ignorance and delusion.  Rather than respond to them and escalate a fruitless flame-war, I’m going to pray God graces them – and me – with the light of His Love.  I don’t have the time to deal with self-righteous witch-hunters or fundamentalist intellectual lilliputians. Let the pharisees count their accomplishments, their “loyalty”, and their rosaries. I will count my sins.

As a side note, I do find it amusing that I have been accused of “creating straw men” in my description of Ultra-Trads. Such an act is unnecessary.  If I want to describe fundamentalism, all I need to do is describe just about anything that actually happened in the churches of my childhood or adolescence.  I was raised in the fringes of “Tradistan” and, as a result, experienced firsthand what happens when non-dogmatic things are held up as dogma.  Someone can use any ultra-Traditionalist argument they wish against me, but I guarantee that I have heard it before.

“You merely adopted the Trad.  I was born in it, molded by it.  I did not know anything else until I was already a man.”

Back to business.  I will do a  two-for on the Malabar and Malankara Christians soon.

2 thoughts on “Letting it go

  1. A couple of questions:

    1 – This is an amazing blog. I too spent a lot of time in my youth with the Latin Trad movement before being drawn Eastward – in my case Byzantium. Although I also have a soft spot for our Assyro-Chaldean brothers and sisters. So I totally get what you are saying here.

    2 – I too agree that neo-conservatism has held an unhealthy influence over conservative Catholicism in the U.S., as we saw with the recent blogosphere debate over waterboarding as a form of torture–something that should be a no-brainer to all Catholics. On the other side, Summorum Pontificum seems to have had an Edict of Milan effect in mainstreaming the Latin Mass. This is good for the majority who attend it, but its sudden popularity has sent into a tailspin a vocal minority of former lay leaders who are now crossing the line between traditionalism and fundamentalism. The current debate over geocentrism being an apt example.

    3 – Pardon my ignorance, but that quote, is it adapted from Star Wars? For some reason I keep thinking Darth Maul.

    Like

    • My situation is a little different. My family were initially refugees from (as some people named him) “Baloney Mahoney” and went to Fr. Fred Schell’s little church in Los Angeles. I was baptized by Fr. Wathen (of ‘Who Shall Ascend’ fame) and received all my catechism at home and in an SSPX church, I was confirmed by Bp. Alfonso de Galarreta, enroled in the so-called Archconfraternity of St. Stephen, served as an acolyte in their masses. and got to see a few purges and priests turn sedevacantist. At one point, we finally gave up on the SSPX and walked into the fledgling FSSP community. One day, I discovered a Byzantine church, walked in, and have never left aside from visits.

      The neoconservatism (I hate the “Neocatholic” slur) I speak of is the Mark Shea type where, if the Pope were to say to completely contradictory statements in consecutive days, they would declare both his statements to be inspired by the Holy Spirit and perfectly compatible. If anyone pointed out the contradiction, the neocons would jump on them for being “schismatic”, “dissidents”, “disobedient”, or “crypto-Lefebvrist’. A read-up on St. Hippolytus or the heretical Popes of history would do them much good. Heck, Innocent III spoke of how a pope could commit a schismatic act while Paul IV outlined how to resist a heretic pope.

      Summorum Pontificum opened the floodgates in promoting diocesan and Ecclesia Dei Latin Masses, opened some peoples eyes to realize you don’t have to be a wacko who believes women shouldn’t go to college to love the Old Rite, and even got some discussions going over “Why 1962 when there are better version of the missal we could use?”. On the other hand, it revealed that many traditionalists just wanted to be ultramontanists and were waiting for a pope they could submit unconditionally to. Hence the utter panic during Francis’ papacy.

      It’s a paraphrased quote from ‘The Dark Knight Rises’. Not a movie i’m fond of, but the quote is golden.

      Like

Leave a Reply

